American Reading Forum Online Yearbook - Volume XXXIV 2014

Looking Back to Move Ahead with the Common Core State Standards

Editors

Linda Haling, Illinois State University

Robyn Seglem, Illinois State University

 

Associate Editors

Wendy Kaiser, University of Massachusetts Amherst, wendyk@crocker.com

Christi Edge, Northern Michigan University, cedge@nmu.edu

Vicky Cardullo, Auburn University, vmc0004@auburn.edu

 

Reviewers

Megan Adams, Kennesaw University, madam104@kennesaw.edu

Bethney Bergh, Northern Michigan University, bbergh@nmu.edu

Matthew Blankenship University of South Florida mublanke@mail.usf.edu

Abby Cameron-Standerford, Northern Michigan University, acameron@nmu.edu

Lessie L. Cochran, Bowling Green State University llcochr@icloud.com

Tami Dean, Illinois State University, trdean2@ilstu.edu

David Koppenhaver, Appalachian State University, koppenhaverd@appstate.edu

Mary Jane McIlwain, Auburn University, mjm005@auburn.edu

Carla Meyer, Duquesne, meyerck74@gmail.com

Emily Pendergrass, Vanderbilt University, emily.s.pendergrass@vanderbilt.edu

Sherron Roberts, University of Central Florida, Sherron.roberts@ucf.edu

Brandon Sams, Auburn University, bls0023@auburn.edu

Patsy Self Trand, Florida International University, selfp@fiu.edu

Patricia Watson, Texas Woman’s University, pwatson2@mail.twu.edu

Jeanine Wilker, Western Illinois University, Jf-wilker@wiu.edu

 

Keynote Drawings and Notes by Steve Kroeger

Norman Stahl Keynote

Bonnie Lash Freeman Keynote

Janet Allen Keynote

 

PAPERS

Do the CCSS Support Developmentally Responsive Teaching of Young Adolescents?

Nance Wilson, SUNY Cortland
Carla Meyer, Duquesne University
Laurie Ramirez, Appalachian State University


Morphemic Decoding Instruction for Students who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing

David Koppenhaver, Appalachian State University
Barbara Wollak, University of St. Thomas


Preservice Teachers Ponder the Power of Poetry

Michelle R. Ciminelli, Niagara University


What’s Wrong with the Core? Analyzing the Common Concerns around Disciplinary Literacy and the Use of Expository Texts

Patricia Watson, Texas Woman’s University
Holly Johnson, University of Cincinnati
Shelly Sheats Harkness, University of Cincinnati


(Re)Seeing Teacher Education Practices through Visual Literacy

Bethney Bergh, Northern Michigan University
Christi Edge, Northern Michigan University
Abby Cameron-Standerford, Northern Michigan University
Sandy Imdieke Northern Michigan University
N. Suzanne Standerford, Northern Michigan University
Laura Riessner, Northern Michigan University


When Scientifically-Based Instruction May Not Be: Theory to Reinterpret Student Failure
to Respond to Intervention

Amy Williams, University of North Georgia
David Koppenhaver, Appalachian State University


How do I Teach ELs with the Common Core?

Joyce Fine, Florida International University
Eilyn Sanabria, Florida International University
Carolyn O’Gorman-Fazzolari, Florida International University